Proposal to create/amend ICAOS Bylaws:

Section 2. Ex-Officio Members

The Commission membership shall also include but are not limited to individuals who are not commissioners and who shall not have a vote, but who are members of interested organizations. Such non-commissioner members must include a representative of the National Governors Association, the National Conference of State Legislatures, the Conference of Chief Justices, the National Association of Attorneys General and the National Organization for Victim Assistance. In addition representatives of the National Institute of Corrections, the American Probation and Parole Association, Association of Paroling Authorities International, the Interstate Commission for Juveniles, the Association of Prosecuting Attorneys, the Conference of State Court Administrators, the National Sheriff's Association, the American Jail Association, the National Association of Police Organizations, National Association for Public Defense and the National District Attorneys Association and the International Association of Chief of Police may be exofficio members of the Commission.

Justification:

At the request of Chief Executive Officer Vincent Talucci, the International Association of Chiefs of Police (IACP) asked to be removed as an ex-officio member due to its reported inability to actively participate in the Commission's business, as they prioritize their responsibility for active engagement.

Executive Committee action:

Executive Committee June 2023: Motion to recommend removing the International Association of Chiefs of Police (IACP) from the Commission's Bylaws made by Commissioner D. Crook (VT), Commissioner C. Moore (GA) seconded. Motion carried.

Effective date:

September 20, 2023