Interstate Commission for Adult Offender Supervision

West Region Meeting MINUTES

April 26, 2023 · 2:00 pm ET Video Conference

Members in Attendance:

- 1. Taryn Link (AK), Chair
- 2. Dori Littler (AZ)
- 3. Marvin Speed (CA)
- 4. Andrew Zavaras (CO)
- 5. Brook Mamizuka (HI)
- 6. Judy Mesick (ID)
- 7. Cathy Gordon (MT)
- 8. Deon McDaniel (NV)
- 9. Roberta Cohen (NM)
- 10. Jeremiah Stromberg (OR)
- 11. Mac Pevey (WA)
- 12. Jeremy Vukich (WY)

Members not in Attendance:

1. Dan Blanchard (UT)

Guests:

- 1. Lorna Colver (AK)
- 2. Truesee Chang (CA)
- 3. Matthew Poyzer (AZ)
- 4. Sasha Cafaro (CO)
- 5. Collin Hocker (CO)
- 6. Michael Knott (HI)
- 7. Stacey Luke (HI)
- 8. Mark Patterson (OR)
- 9. Victoria Vigil (NM)
- 10. Jennifer Calvo (UT)
- 11. Tanja Gilmore (WA)
- 12. Pat Odell (WY)

<u>Staff:</u>

- 1. Ashley Lippert, Executive Director
- 2. Allen Eskridge, Operations & Policy Director
- 3. Barno Saturday, Logistics and Administrative Coordinator
- 4. Mindy Spring, Training and Administrative Coordinator
- 5. Xavier Donnelly, ICOTS Project Manager
- 6. Drake Greeott, Web Development Manager

Call to Order

Chair T. Link (AK) called the meeting to order at 2:00 pm ET, twelve of the thirteen members were present establishing a quorum.

Chair T. Link (AK) welcomed new region members Commissioner M. Speed (CA) and Commissioner J. Vukich (WY).

Approval of Agenda and Minutes

Commissioner M. Pevey (WA) moved to approve the agenda as presented. Commissioner J. Vukich (WY) seconded. Agenda approved.

Commissioner A. Zavaras (CO) moved to approve the minutes from January 5, 2023 meeting, as drafted. Commissioner B. Mamizuka (HI) seconded. Minutes approved.

Discussion

ICAOS Workgroup to Consider Language Change: Chair T. Link (AK) stated that the Executive Committee discussed the criminal justice terminology used by the Compact at its face-to-face meeting last month. In recent years, members of the Commission have expressed interest in removing the word "offender" from the Compact's terminology in favor of more person-centered language.

The Executive Committee decided to establish a workgroup to explore this possibility and seeks to appoint two representatives from each region to serve as members. The goal of the workgroup is to study this issue and provide a recommendation to the Executive Committee on whether a change is appropriate. If recommending a change, the workgroup will also propose alternative language options and recommend the scope of this change.

Executive Director A. Lippert noted that the initial meeting of the workgroup would be sometime in May. Past chair J. Stromberg (OR) will chair the workgroup.

Commissioner J. Stromberg (OR) asked the region members to send him their thoughts and feedback on the matter to share with the workgroup. Commissioners A. Zavaras and J. Vukich volunteered to join the workgroup.

FY24 Compliance Audit: Chair T. Link (AK) stated that the Executive Committee approved the FY24 compliance audit plan to re-audit seventeen states with more than one case resulting in unsatisfactory outcomes in all three FY23 evaluation metrics: junk records, rejected cases, and offenders awaiting retaking. In addition, two states with unsatisfactory results in junk records and offenders awaiting retaking that have not engaged in any clean-up following the FY 2023 audit will also be re-audited. States who do not meet these criteria may request to be re-audited. The national office sent letters to all member states informing them of the forthcoming audit. The audit will begin on July 1, 2023.

Executive Director A. Lippert noted that interested states could run these reports themselves without requesting to participate in the official audit.

Proposed Rule Amendments: Chair T. Link (AK) stated that this year, the Commission will vote only on one rule proposal *5.108 Probable Cause Hearing in Receiving State* proposed by the West Region. She asked the region members to leave their comments on the rule proposal forum.

2023 Annual Business Meeting: Chair T. Link (AK) stated that the national office posted the Annual Business Meeting's agenda on the Commission's website. The meeting registration will open on June 1, 2023. She asked the region members to nominate their colleagues who were doing exceptional work for the Peyton Tuthill and Executive Director Awards. The awards would be presented at the 2023 Annual Business meeting in Norfolk, Virginia. The nomination deadline is July 1, 2023.

Executive Director A. Lippert invited the region members to join the Commission for the annual business meeting's reception aboard the U.S.S. Wisconsin Battleship. She continued that this year, the Executive Committee voted to provide only an electronic copy of the meeting's docket book instead of a printed copy. The Commission members can proceed with making their hotel reservations via the Commission's website.

DCA Region Chair Election: Chair T. Link (AK) informed the region about the upcoming DCA region chair elections. The deadline to submit chair nominations is June 30.

Executive Director A. Lippert thanked current DCA West Region chair Mark Patterson for doing an outstanding job. She stated that DCA region chairs are members of the DCA Liaison Committee and organize regular meetings to engage DCAs in regional discussions. If more than one DCA in a region is interested, the region will conduct a vote in early July.

New Old/Business

There was no old/new business.

<u>Adjourn</u>

Commissioner J. Stromberg (OR) moved to adjourn. Commissioner C. Gordon (MT) seconded.

The meeting adjourned at 2:19 pm ET.