Skip to main content

Interstate Commissioner for Audlt Offender Supervision (ICAOS) Logo


Section 1. Election and Succession.

The officers of the Commission shall include a chairperson, vice chairperson, secretary and treasurer. The officers shall be duly appointed Commission Members, except that if the Commission appoints an Executive Director, then the Executive Director shall serve as the secretary. Officers shall be elected every two years by the Commission at any meeting at which a quorum is present, and shall serve for two years or until their successors are elected by the Commission. The officers so elected shall serve without compensation or remuneration, except as provided by the Compact.

Section 2. Duties.

The officers shall perform all duties of their respective offices as provided by the Compact and these By-laws. Such duties shall include, but are not limited to, the following:

  1. Chairperson. The chairperson shall call and preside at all meetings of the Commission and in conjunction with the Executive Committee shall prepare agendas for such meetings, shall make appointments to all committees of the Commission, and, in accordance with the Commission’s directions, or subject to ratification by the Commission, shall act on the Commission’s behalf during the interims between Commission meetings.
  2. Vice Chairperson. The vice chairperson shall, in the absence or at the direction of the chairperson, perform any or all of the duties of the chairperson. In the event of a vacancy in the office of chairperson, the vice chairperson shall serve as acting chairperson until a new chairperson is elected by the Commission.
  3. Secretary. The secretary shall keep minutes of all Commission meetings and shall act as the custodian of all documents and records pertaining to the status of the Compact and the business of the Commission.
  4. Treasurer. The treasurer, with the assistance of the Commission’s executive director, shall act as custodian of all Commission funds and shall be responsible for monitoring the administration of all fiscal policies and procedures set forth in the Compact or adopted by the Commission. Pursuant to the Compact, the treasurer shall execute such bond as may be required by the Commission covering the treasurer, the executive director and any other officers, Commission Members and Commission personnel, as determined by the Commission, who may be responsible for the receipt, disbursement, or management of Commission funds.

Section 3. Costs and Expense Reimbursement.

Subject to the availability of budgeted funds, the officers shall be reimbursed for any actual and necessary costs and expenses incurred by the officers in the performance of their duties and responsibilities as officers of the Commission.

Section 4. Vacancies.

Upon the resignation, removal, or death of an officer of the Commission before the next annual meeting of the Commission, a majority of the Executive Committee shall appoint a successor to hold office for the unexpired portion of the term of the officer whose position shall so become vacant or until the next regular or special meeting of the Commission at which the vacancy is filled by majority vote of the Commission, whichever first occurs.



Click terms below to reveal definitions used in this rule.

Compact Commissioner or "Commissioner" - means the voting representative of each compacting state appointed under the terms of the Interstate Compact for Adult Offender Supervision as adopted in the member state.